• 27 UAA Championships
  • NCAA National Champions: 2019, 2017, 2012, 2006, 2003
  • 2018-19 Record: 22-2
  • 2018-19 Final Ranking: 1st
  • 2017-18 Final Record: 19-5
  • 39 Individual All-Americans
  • 2018-19 National Rank: 3rd

Emory's Jonathan Jemison Named ITA National Senior Player Of The Year

Emory's Jonathan Jemison Named ITA National Senior Player Of The Year

Emory University's Jonathan Jemison (Marietta, GA) has been recognized by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) for his outstanding play in 2018-19 by being named as the Division III Men's National Senior Player of the Year.  The announcement was made Thursday evening at a banquet held in conjunction with the NCAA Championships in Kalamazoo, Michigan. 

Jemison, the No. 1-ranked singles player in the Atlantic South Region, has chalked up an overall record of 21-5 as he heads into Friday's (May 24) singles competition at the NCAA D-III Championships. Recently tabbed as the Atlantic South Region Senior Player of the Year, his efforts helped the Eagles to a 22-2 won-lost record this year that included the program's fifth national title.  It was Jemison who came through with a 3-6, 6-3, 6-3, triumph at first singles against Claremont-Mudd-Scripps' Nikolai Parodi that proved to be the clinching point in the championship match against the No. 1-ranked Stags. Jemison has been outstanding in doubles as well, teaming with classmate Adrien Bouchet for a 27-6 mark, tying the fifth-highest seasonal win total in school history.

During the fall, Jemison, who claims four All-University Athletic First Team honors in singles and two straight at No. 1, defended his ITA South Region singles title and joined up with Bouchet to win the doubles crown.

Career-wise, Jemison has hammered out a singles ledger of 94-28 and ranks fourth on the school's all-time list in wins.  His 105 doubles victories stands No. 1 on the Eagles' career ladder.

Jemison becomes the fourth Emory player to earn ITA Senior Player of the Year accolades, joining Mark Odgers (2005), Michael Goodwin (2009) and Dillon Pottish (2012).