• 21 NCAA Championship Appearances
  • 2017 Final National Finish: 25th
  • NCAA Region Champions: '99-04, 2007, 2009, 2014, 2015
  • 7 All-Americans
  • 2018 National Rank: 28th
  • 2018 Region Rank: 3rd

Emory Men's Cross Country Third At NCAA South/Southeast Regional Championships

Emory Men's Cross Country Third At NCAA South/Southeast Regional Championships


The Emory men's cross country team registered a third-place finish at the NCAA South/Southeast Region Championships on Saturday.  This year's competition was held at the Lee Hall Mansion Course in Newport News, Virginia and hosted by Christopher Newport University.

Competing in a 33-team field, Emory recorded 87 points, trailing first-place Christopher Newport, who totaled 43 points, and Rhodes College (51 pts.).  Washington and Lee was fourth with 113 points while Trinity (189 pts.) rounded out the top five.

Six of the Eagles' seven runners ranked among the top 35 overall finishers, earning all-region honors in the process.  Leading the pack in his third straight race was senior Shane Sullivan, who clocked a personal-best 8k time of 24:37, good for eighth place out of 222 runners.  Sullivan's time represented the fourth-fastest mark in school history. Junior Bennett Shaw was the next Emory runner to cross the finish line, posting a personal-best 25:07 that slotted him 17th overall. Sophomore Luis Torres (25:08) and senior Max Brown (25:08), stood 18th and 19th, respectively among the leaders with their performances career-bests.  Sophomore Marty Pimentel rounded out the Emory scorers, placing 25th in the field, with a personal-best showing of 25:20. Sophomore Sam Branson was the final Eagle to race to all-region distinction, placing 34th on the leader board at personal-best clip of 25:31.

By virtue of their finishes, Christopher Newport and Rhodes earn automatic berths to next Saturday's NCAA D-III Championships is Elsah, Illinois.  Emory will hope to capture an at-large bid to the competition with the announcement scheduled to be made on Sunday (Nov 12) at 1:00 pm on ncaa.com.