Emory Athletics Finish Fourth in 2017-18 Directors' Cup Standings

Emory Athletics Finish Fourth in 2017-18 Directors' Cup Standings

The Emory University Department of Athletics has finished fourth in the 2017-18 Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Division III standings, as announced by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Thursday morning.

The fourth-place finish represents the 17th time in the past 18 years that Emory has recorded a top-10 showing as well as the eighth top-five finish during that span --  2000-01 (fourth), 2001-02 (fifth), 2002-03 (second), 2003-04 (second), 2004-05 (eighth), 2005-06 (fourth), 2006-07 (ninth), 2007-08 (seventh), 2008-09 (sixth), 2009-10 (18th) , 2010-11 (seventh), 2011-12 (sixth), 2012-13 (second), 2013-14 (sixth), 2014-15 (eighth), 2015-16 (third) and 2016-17 (ninth).  Emory registered a final total of 936.05 points.

Emory scored Directors’ Cup points in 14 sports in 2017-18 and captured the national championship in women’s swimming and diving.  In addition to the first place finish in women’s swimming and diving, Emory posted nine other top-10 finishes in the Directors’ Cup during the year: women’s tennis (2nd), men’s swimming and diving (2nd), men’s tennis (3rd), men’s soccer (5th), volleyball (5th), women’s outdoor track and field (5th), men’s golf (7th), women’s indoor track and field (8th) and men’s basketball (9th).

Emory athletics also claimed five University Athletic Association championships this past school year – women’s swimming and diving, men’s swimming and diving, women’s tennis, golf and softball.

Williams College (MA) finished in the No. 1 spot with 1,126.50 points, its 21st Directors’ Cup title in 23 years.  MIT was second with 1,001.50 points while Claremont-Mudd-Scripps was third with 939.50 points. A total of 329 schools accumulated points in the final Division III standings.

The Directors’ Cup is a program that honors institutions maintaining a broad-based program, achieving success in many sports, both men's and women's.  Began in 1993-94 for Division I by NACDA and USA Today, it was expanded in 1995-96 to include Division II, III and the NAIA and, in 2011-12, expanded to the Junior/Community Colleges.  Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 18 sports -- nine women’s and nine men’s.